STEPHEN PEARCY Interview with Rock Confidential

MUSIC NEWS Stephen Pearcy New Solo Album, ‘Smash’
ByJesse CappsPublished on January 13, 2017 

Ratt frontman Stephen Pearcy’s fourth original solo album, Smash, will be released January 27 via Frontiers Music Srl. We recently caught up with Pearcy to talk about the new record and all things Ratt N’ Roll. During our conversation we also did a track-by-track rundown of the new songs, which you can read below. 

“It took long enough to finish the new record and it is well worth the patience taken, giving every song as much attention as the next,” comments Pearcy. “Erik Ferentinos (lead guitars, co-writer), Greg D’ Angelo (drums), Matt Thorne (bass, keyboards) and myself didn’t settle on any first, second or third takes. We let some songs grow if needed, then go back and complete it. We’re very happy with the outcome, that we were able to experiment and grow with the new songs.” 

Pearcy paid particular detail to the lyrics on Smash and is doing something of a rarity for this release: “There will be a lyric sheet. It’s only the second time in my entire career and the last time that I’ll do it,” he adds. “The record really needs a lyric sheet because of the subject matter. People might be surprised that I have other thoughts besides the three P’s.” (Ed. note – Just in case you’re not familiar, the three Ps are: pussy, party, and paycheck. Not necessarily in that order.)

Pearcy points out, “Explaining these songs doesn’t really give you meaning – everybody has to make their own assessment of what I say. These songs could be about you or someone you know. They could be your answer or they could be your question. That’s how I want these songs to present themselves. Look at all the songs and put the puzzle together. It will all make sense.” 
From the album SMASH.               Get your copy NOW: